Mauney’s hot streak continues in Nashville

A week after winning his first Built Ford Tough Series event of the season and, more importantly, covering Bushwacker for 95.25 points to end the bull’s streak of 42 consecutive buckoffs dating back to October 2009, J.B. Mauney is atop the leaderboard in Nashville, Tenn., after Round 1 of the Professional Bull Riders Jack Daniel’s Invitational.

The Mooresville, N.C., native rode Electric Prune (Twisted Creek Ranch/3 G Cattle Co.) for 88.25 points Saturday night at Bridgestone Arena and with one long round between now and the Built Ford Tough Championship Round, another matchup with 2011 PBR World Champion Bull Bushwacker could be looming in the future on Sunday afternoon.

“I feel good man,” said Mauney, who, unlike a week ago, would not commit to definitely selecting Bushwacker if given the opportunity. “Everything’s going right and I’m having fun. When you seem like you’re on a roll it seems like you can’t do (anything) wrong.”

Renato Nunes rode Jared Allen’s Homes 4 Wounded Warriors Hy Test (Phenom Genetics/Jared Allen 69inc.) for 87.5 points to finish second in the round, while Guilherme Marchi (86.25), Nathan Schaper (86) and Eduardo Aparecido (86) rounded out the Top 5.

Silvano Alves, the No. 1 ranked rider in the world, promised he would be better than he was a week ago in Tulsa, Okla., when he bucked off in Round 1. This week he had some trouble with Hawaiian Country Boy (Pu’uhuluhulu Ranch and Farm) in the chute and after re-pulling his rope, he made the whistle for 79.5 points to finish 10th in the round.

With the round win, Mauney gained another 98.75 points in the world standings.

He came into the weekend ranked sixth in the world and trailed the two-time defending World Champion by 2,326.5 points.

As the winner of the series’ previous event in Tulsa, Mauney was eligible to ride the night’s bonus bull, Sasquatch (BMC Bucking Bulls), for $3,000. Mauney did not cover the Sasquatch, falling off at 6.82 seconds. The $3,000 rolls into the pot of the Monster Energy Money Bull Bonus, which now stands at $96,000.

Mauney is ready for the Jack Daniel’s Invitational’ s Round 2 Sunday afternoon and already knows everyone will be asking whether or not he intends to select Bushwacker for a second time in as many BFTS events.

The Jack Daniel’s Invitational will continue Sunday afternoon at 2 p.m. CT. Round 2 and the Built Ford Tough Championship Round also will air on CBS Sports Network tomorrow night at 8 p.m. ET.

The BFTS is televised every week on CBS, CBS Sports Network and networks around the world. BFTS telecasts are produced for the PBR under a multi-year agreement with David Neal Productions, a Los Angeles-based production company led by 34-time Emmy® Award winner and Peabody Award winner David Neal, who serves as executive producer.

Nashville is the 19th stop of 27 on the 2013 BFTS. The season will conclude at the PBR Built Ford Tough World Finals in Las Vegas on Oct. 23-27, 2013 where the PBR World Champion will receive the coveted championship buckle, a new pick up from Ford and a $1 million bonus.

Professional Bull Riders Built Ford Tough Series
Jack Daniel’s Invitational
Bridgestone Arena in Nashville, Tenn.
Event Leaders (Round 1-Total Points)
1. J. B. Mauney, 88.25-88.25 points.
2. Renato Nunes, 87.5-87.50 points.
3. Guilherme Marchi, 86.25-86.25 points.
4. Eduardo Aparecido, 86-86 points.
(tie). Nathan Schaper, 86-86 points.
6. Chase Outlaw, 85.75-85.75 points.
7. L.J. Jenkins, 84.5-84.50 points.
8. Shane Proctor, 84.25-84.25 points.
9. Joao Ricardo Vieira, 81.75-81.75 points.
10. Silvano Alves, 79.5-79.50 points.
Agnaldo Cardozo, 0-0 points.
Austin Meier, 0-0 points.
Ben Jones, 0-0 points.
Billy Robinson, 0-0 points.
Brant Atwood, 0-0 points.
Brendon Clark, 0-0 points.
Cody Nance, 0-0 points.
Douglas Duncan, 0-0 points.
Edevaldo Ferreira, 0-0 points.
Emilio Resende, 0-0 points.
Jared Farley, 0-0 points.
Jordan Hupp, 0-0 points.
Jory Markiss, 0-0 points.
Kody Lostroh, 0-0 points.
Lachlan Richardson, 0-0 points.
Luke Snyder, 0-0 points.
Marco Eguchi, 0-0 points.
Mike Lee, 0-0 points.
Montana Hand, 0-0 points.
Pistol Robinson, 0-0 points.
Sean Willingham, 0-0 points.
Stetson Lawrence, 0-0 points.
Stormy Wing, 0-0 points.
Ty Pozzobon, 0-0 points.
Valdiron de Oliveira, 0-0 points.






Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *