2014 Calgary Stampede Contestants Announced!…


Earlier this week the contestant list was released for those appearing at the 2014 Calgary Stampede and include some current and defending World Champions.  Along with those are many past World Champions as well as many faces and names that are well known within the sport of professional rodeo.  The stars are coming out in droves for this years festivities and tickets will sell out quickly so make sure to get yours today to witness some of the sports best cowboys and cowgirls compete for the chance to be called the Calgary Stampede Champion for 2014!

The current contestant list is below and like I said earlier is stacked with some amazing talent that will appear over the ten day event for their chance to take home part of the 2 million dollars in prize money which is the richest outdoor rodeo purse in the sport.

Saddle Bronc Riding 

Tyler Corrington – Guymon OK

Jacobs Crawley – Stephenville TX

Sterling Crawley – Stephenville TX

Heith DeMoss – Heflin LA

Isaac Diaz – Desdemona TX

Cole Elshere – Faith SD

Chad Ferley- Oelrichs SD (*, **)

Dustin Flundra – Pincher Creek AB

Rylan Geiger – Duchess AB

Chet Johnson – Douglas WY

Sam Kelts – Millarville AB

Taos Muncy – Corona NM (**)

Cort Scheer – Elsmere NE

Wade Sundell – Boxholm IA

Cody Wright – Milford UT (***)

Jesse Wright – Milford, UT (**)

Jake Wright – Milford UT

Cody DeMoss – Helfin LA

Brad Harter – Loranger LA

Luke Butterfield – Ponoka AB

Bareback Riding 

Caleb Bennett – Morgan UT

Kyle Bowers – Brooks AB

Clint Cannon – Waller TX

Casey Colletti – Pueblo CO

Jessy Davis – Power MT

Kaycee Feild – Spanish Fork UT (*, **, ***)

Ryan Gray – Petersburg TX

Logan Hodson – Hudson Hope BC

Matt Lait – Cayley AB

Dusty LaValley – Bezanson AB

Clint Laye – Cadogan AB

Will Lowe – Canyon TX (**)

Bobby Mote – Stephenville TX (**)

Steven Peebles – Redmond OR

Wes Stevenson – Lubbock TX

J.R. Vezain – Cowley WY

Jake Vold – Ponoka AB

Richie Champion – Woodlands TX

Luke Creasy – Brownfield AB

Austin Foss – Redmond OR

Tie-Down Roping 

Nathan Baldwin – Blackfoot ID

Al Bouchard – Scandia AB

Trevor Brazile – Decatur TX (**)

Bradley Bynum – Sterling City TX

Curtis Cassidy – Donalda AB

Tuf Cooper – Decatur TX (**, ***)

Clif Cooper – Decatur TX

Tyson Durfey – Colbert WA

Morgan Grant – Granton ON

Shane Hanchey – Sulpher LA (*)

Ryan Jarrett – Comanche OK

Chad Johnson – Del Bonita AB

Sterling Smith – Stephenville TX

Timber Moore – Aubrey TX

Cody Ohl – Hico TX (**)

Shane Slack – Idabel OK

Caleb Smidt – Bellveille TX

Matt Shiozawa – Chubbuck ID

Fred Whitfield – Hockley – TX (**)

Clint Robinson – Spanish Fork UT

Steer Wrestling 

Bray Armes – Ponder TX

Stan Branco – Pilot Point TX

Luke Branquinho – Los Alamos CA (**)

Cody Cassidy – Donalda AB

Hunter Cure – Holliday TX (*)

Dakota Eldridge – Elko NV

Dean Gorsuch – Gering NE (**)

Morgan Grant – Granton ON

Jule Hazen – Ashland KS

Trevor Knowles – Mt Vernon OR

Casey Martin – Sulpher LA (***)

Straws Milan – Cochrane AB

Justin Miller – Neepawa MB

Clayton Moore – Pouce Coupe BC

Tyler Pearson – Independence LA

Matt Reeves – Cross Plains TX

Wade Sumpter – Fowler CO

Jake Rinehart – Highmore SD

Billy Bugenig – Ferndale CA

Olin Hannum – Malad UT

Ladies Barrel Racing 

Kaley Bass – Kissimmee FL

Sherry Cervi – Marana AZ (*)

Trula Churchill – Valentine NE

Britany Diaz – Bismarck ND

Taylor Jacob – Carmine TX

Laura Kennedy – Quitman AR

Sabrina Ketcham – Yeso NM

Lisa Lockhart – Oelrichs SD (***)

Brenda Mays – Terrebonne OR

Michele McLeod – Whitesboro TX

Brittany Pozzi – Victoria TX (**)

Kim Schulze – Larkspur CO

Mary Walker – Ennis TX (**)

Kirsty White – Big Valley AB

Jean Winters – Texline TX

Nancy Hunter – Neola UT

Shelly Anzick – Livingston MT

Fallon Taylor – Whitesboro TX

Jana Bean – Ft Hancock TX



Bull Riding 

Claudio Crisostomo – Lopes Da Silva, Brazil

Chase Outlaw – Hamburg AR

Chad Besplug – Claresholm AB

Dakota Buttar – Kindersey SK

Tanner Byrne – Prince Albert, SK

Marco Eguchi – Poa Sao Paulo Brazil

Tanner Girletz – Bowden AB

Cooper Davis – Jasper TX

L.J. Jenkins – Porum OK

Josh Koshel – Nunn CO

Zane Lambert – Ponoka AB

Mike Lee – Ft Worth TX (** For the PBR)

Jory Markiss – Stephenville TX

J.B. Mauney – Mooresville NC (* For the PBR)

Cody Nance – Paris TN

Shane Proctor – Troutman NC (**)

Scott Schiffner – Strathmore AB

Tyler Smith – Fruita CO

Cody Teel – Kountze TX (**)

Joao Ricardo Vieira –Brazil

* – Defending World Champion

** – Past World Champion

*** – Current World Number One

Editors note:  I apologize if I have accidentally left any identification out to denote those in bold.  Please let me know if I have forgotten anyone.

The 2014 Calgary Stampede is sure to be one for the record books as the best of the best is scheduled to compete at this legendary event that has been going strong since 1912.  Along with the great rodeo action the Calgary Stampede is also known for its annual  GMC Rangeland Derby chuckwagon races which pays out over 1 Million dollars in prize money as well over the 10 day event.

If you live in or around the Calgary area you can have a chance at a lifetime by volunteering to help out in July for the 2014 season.  The Stampede has more than 2,000 year-round volunteers and over 1,200 year-round employees and each July the Stampede hires more than 3,000 seasonal employees.  If you are interested in the unique opportunity to help out at this years event you can get more information on their website here.






Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *